What is More Important than Time?

This a recent email to my LinkedIn connections. It fits well here too. The more I discover the more I find I do not know. I wonder if that is a reason so many stop their discovery process. Living inside a myth is easier.

besuccessfulI have accomplished many successes over the course of my life and the most profound and rewarding happened quickly without any struggle or effort on my part. The common refrain that success comes by hard work and persistence is a large lie in my view. Good for keeping employees nose to the grindstone. Discovering what I do best and learning how to delegate the rest has been my focus. What is the source of effortlessness in this moment? My greatest successes happened while operating as an employee however.   That period is no longer available to me and for millions of others worldwide. I have reached the place where it is clear to me that what it takes to succeed now is entirely different from what it took to succeed as an employee. While many of the ‘rules’ for success may be similar and apply in all cases, principles if you will, there is much I have yet to discover.

I have determined three simple conditions are essential for my success. One is the beliefs I view the day provide what is possible for me to achieve. Limiting beliefs or worse, incongruent opposing beliefs produce failure. When I cannot set aside a belief and replace it with another, even for just a moment, I am stuck.impossibleNOT

Two is clarity comes from simplicity and enables focus. My daily ‘doing now’ list is short and replaced the long to ‘to do’ list I used to beat myself up with every evening.

The most important condition for effective action and accomplishment, for success daily is not time nor is it a set of skills I must continue to master. It is not intention, passion, bliss, or effective goal setting. All are useful but without one condition present make no difference. It is not in any of the courses I have taken over the last thirty years on leadership and dozens of other useful experiences. Concepts are always different from reality. When I have ‘this’ everything I do works. Without enough of ‘it’ I fail. This was useful as an employee but not essential to my day-to-day successes. What is it? Let me know and a future post will divulge my answer.

 

3 thoughts on “What is More Important than Time?

  1. Pingback: More Important than Time! - Prosperity Rules

  2. Pingback: Thoughts on Coming Attractions - Network CapturesNetwork Captures

  3. Pingback: Thoughts on Coming Attractions - Eisbrener CapturesEisbrener Captures

Leave a Reply

