Week – #21 Courage – the Form of Every Virtue

Last week I found discipline everywhere.  Discipline appears to either be a habit running a useful task or one running away from one.   I like discipline.  A few years ago I was asked to list my most important and cherished values.  They made no distinction between value courage005and virtue.   I did not have the answer at the tip of my tongue and wondered what all the values are.  If I had a list, I might discover some I would like to have and I would be better able to answer the question.   I discovered no comprehensive list anywhere but many who had answered what their cherished values are.  I built the comprehensive list with a future intention of spending time on all of them, or at least the ones I would practice.

In golf there is, after enough practice swinging the clubs, a technique called ‘swing thought’ to quiet your mind to allow your body to do the work.  I am looking for my ‘swing thought’ that gets me into action; especially when ‘I don’t want to’ is the flashing neon sign in my brain.  This week I am looking for and studying courage and my first glance through old notes, quotes and earlier thinking on the matter, this may be my ignition point.  If it will work for me, perhaps I can assist others in finding theirs.

courage003The courage to be is the courage to accept oneself, in spite of being unacceptable. – Paul Tillich

A lot of people do not muster the courage to live their dreams because they are afraid to die. – Les Brown

Courage is not simply one of the virtues, but the form of every virtue at the testing point. – C. S. Lewis

Courage is almost a contradiction in terms. It means a strong desire to live taking the form of readiness to die. – Gilbert K. Chesterton

Love is the most difficult and dangerous form of courage. Courage is the most desperate, admirable and noble kind of love. – Delmore Schwartz

You can do anything if you set your mind to it. Look out for kids, help them dream and be inspired. We teach calculus in schools, but I believe the most important formula is courage plus dreams equals success. – Marlee Matlin

Pugnacity is a form of courage, but a very bad form. – Sinclair Lewis

I think laughter may be a form of courage. As humans we sometimes stand tall and look courage004into the sun and laugh, and I think we are never more brave than when we do that. – Linda Ellerbee

On this first pass, the ‘form’ courage takes has something to say about what fills it.  How many of the forms I use are of my creation or are any designs mine?  What forms of courage will produce the first action that moves the train forward?  Can anyone use his or her imagination to produce the form of courage needed for today?

Do you have any [forms, swing thoughts] you use to engage the day in play, in work or in any other way?

29 thoughts on “Week – #21 Courage – the Form of Every Virtue

  1. thank you for sharing.  I have not taken full advantage of your newsletter, but I appreciate receiving them.  I save them all, and I know I will get to them all very soon!  Be well…my regards to your wife. Flerifda

  2. Courage is found in stillness. It is the perfect strength born again from stillness. It doesn’t need to react. It just is. Everything will settle into place in the presence of stillness. True courage arises from the spirit. It will prevail under all circumstances. And the enemy is soundly defeated without knowing why. El Cid comes to mind in his last battle.

  3. Courage is when you are willing to do what scares you to change your future in a better way. Amazing series and thank you for sharing!!!

  4. Pingback: Week – #21 Courage – the Form of Every Virtue | georgelelis

  5. Pingback: Week – #21 Courage – the Form of Every Virtue | Greatpoetrymhf's Weblog

  6. Pingback: Week - #21 Courage - the Form of Every Virtue |...

  7. Reblogged. From my own experiences, courage is an action performed without thought of self, or concern of safety. It is love in action, operating when a need is more important than fear of consequence, usually without any fear at all.

  8. Reblogged this on Sean Atkisson and commented:
    Courage, and the exercise thereof, is experienced by each of us to one degree or another. We feel it individually and collectively, the same and differently. I found the following blog post by one of the true explorers of our time. Invite you to explore courage in its form and substance in your own life. Peace!

  9. Re-Blogged. I sense that courage is experienced at one level or another various times in our life. Much like the experience of love and loving, it may feel quite different from one person to another. I have lost time in my life comparing my courage to someone else and feeling that I have fallen short. Courage, I believe, is more of a journey then an arrival. There are moments when it’s magnified, focused, and amplified and, then there are moments when it is simply “in the flow”. It would be hard to talk with anyone for very long without discovering great amounts of courage they have given to the challenges of their life.

  10. Courage is a wonderful virtue to be seen in others and to experience in oneself. How have I used it? When I’ve had belief in myself, when I’ve decided I need to do it and I know what to do, when I have recognised that the fear was just a figment of my imagination. The feeling of conquer afterwards is tremendous. I usually hold onto that as a reminder of the reward of being courageous.

Leave a Reply

