Week – #16 Kindness Exercise After the Random

Participating with a group to focus on kindness for a week is an exercise I have done before. I have practiced being kind and have formed various habits people call kind.

kindness14This week was about being kind on purpose. I have an incredible life. Kindness everywhere surrounds and supports me, some I had never been aware of before.  I noticed what I call nice is different than kind.  Kind is open, available and asks for nothing in return. Nice is a veneer, thin to thick, but always covering or hiding something.  Nice has a funny way of keeping score too.

The history of ‘nice’ in English, French and Latin says nice comes from stupid, silly, simple, ignorant, and incapable!  How nice we can be sometimes and not kind either.

Kind sources from natural, well disposed and genial. To a fly on the wall, nice and kind, may have no different appearance.  Dogs however, know who is kind and who to avoid.

You don’t have to go looking for kindness when it is where you come kindness00from.

Looking for kindness this week I discovered it everywhere and in everything. I did not understand as an experience this Singer quote before now.

Kindness, I’ve discovered, is everything in life. – Isaac Bashevis Singer

Performing ‘random’ acts of kindness is a where to begin. Now it is time to drop the random.

6 thoughts on “Week – #16 Kindness Exercise After the Random

  1. Great post Michael. After this week I have noticed the difference between being nice and having kindness. You helped me see that I was on the right track with what I was taking away from this! Thanks!

  2. It looks like you found out quite a bit this week Michael – seeing kindness in everything is huge; our power of observation has escalated quite a bit in this course. And to feel the support from those around you is just magnificent. Keep up the great work and the rewards will be abundant.

  3. Distinguishing between kindness and niceness is key. Dogs understand it instinctively, so do children. We’ve spent far too many years in the ‘random acts’ stage – we need to master it as a permanent virtue. Thanks for a thought provoking post, Michael.

Leave a Reply

