Week – #5 The Habit You Be

This is a week in transition.  Today is the last day reading Og Mandino’s scroll I.  “Today I begin a new life.”  I have done the exercises four times previous. The last time I did the scrolls arranged in a different order and there was copious added homework.

The emphasis of Scroll I is habit and how to replace bad ones with good ones.  Much like beautifulservantattempting to replace one addiction with another or is that the same thing?

I started smoking age 19.  I did not enjoy kissing my new girlfriend and while at work my coworker suggested if I smoked, the taste would not be a problem.  That sounded like good advice, he and his wife smoked and it was a way to deal with my issue myself.  I knew I could quit anytime I wanted.  My coworker was right and the relationship disappeared as many do at that age. I didn’t notice it at the time but all my future girl friends smoked too.

About ten years later, I did notice that all my friends smoked.  Smokers and nonsmokers don’t chum together.  I decided it was time to quit. Investigating the methods available I considered if I wanted to cut off my hand, the way not to do it was each finger, one knuckle at a time. You just chop it off.  I quit smoking at that moment.  I didn’t stop being an addict or a smoker who didn’t smoke however.

Within a month, three different people I worked with offered to pay for a year’s supply of cigarettes if I would just go back to smoking as I had been.  I smoked two to three packs a day.  My ability to tolerate nonsense was now nearly zero.  The three who offered were a small sample of the refrain I heard daily, ‘please go back to smoking.’

I did. With three years worth at no cost I figured I could figure it out.  The goal, the DMP in becomingthe matter, was to quit smoking without effort, any pain or discomfort, without any issues at all and it had to be so no one would even remember I smoked or know I had ever smoked. I studied the habit putting a sheet of paper around each pack, with a rubber band and pencil.  Every time I had one, I wrote down the episode, time, and reason, anything that occurred to me.

I did the scrolls during this period and I considered the admonition to replace the ‘habit’ with another one. What, chew on a pencil or a stick of gum instead?  That did not solve the real issue I began to see.  I had a cigarette before and after everything!  Every meal, every event or project had one before and after… I caught myself with two still lit in the ashtray, one in my mouth while reaching for another as I began another project not having completed the first three yet.  I also had to have one every twenty minutes. It was better than any alarm clock or ringing stopwatch for its accuracy.

Tuesday evening, 21 February 1984, I heard the little voice say [the one that just said to you ‘what little voice’] ‘light up a cigarette now Michael.’  I was dumbstruck!  I didn’t smoke cigarettes! Cigarettes smoked me!  Something, not me, had a different commitment for my life than the one “I” had.

I dumped every particle of ‘its’ commitment in the trash, cartons of cigarettes, ash trays and even a solid gold Calibri lighter.  I stopped listening to the voice. The most amazing aspect was suddenly no one knew I had been a smoker! Those who should have, stopped asking for one, and people who avoided me suddenly were friendly.  I had a lot of extra time too.  I was no longer a concern for where, how and when I would have one, buy them, get them, pay for them, etcetera.

beawitnessI did not replace the ‘voice’ with another one either.  I noticed there were other ones already willing to run the show! I paid them no mind as well.  I discovered ways to put them to work, giving them something to do. The easiest was having them all say the Rosary together four times a day.  They have gotten pretty good at it too.  Unfortunately, I have allowed a few to nudge me to eat at times when “I” am a different commitment.  Insufficient sleep, stress from ten different directions gives them a ‘get out of jail free’ card… for a time.

Mr Haanel in week five declares: every conceivable force or object or fact is the result of mind in action. … You can originate thought, and, since thoughts are creative, you can create for yourself the things you desire.

You either produce you own thinking, thought creation OR you allow something else to use you for its thoughts, its commitments, and its future.  Noticing that initiated my ‘never again’ and ‘not on my watch’ mantras.

2. The subconscious can and will solve any problem for us if we know how to direct it. The subconscious processes are always at work; the only question is, are we to be simply passive recipients of this activity, or are we to consciously direct the work? Shall we have a vision of the destination to be reached, the dangers to be avoided, or shall we simply drift?

You may notice that the world teaches us to drift to someone’s dreams and desires and it is not ours!!!

7. The idea seemed plausible, the conscious received it, passed it on to the subconscious, where it was taken up by the Sympathetic System and passed on to be built into our physical body. “The word has become flesh.”

24. Those who have come into possession of this inheritance are never quite the same again. They have come into possession of a sense of power hitherto undreamed of. They can never again be timid, weak, vacillating, or fearful. They are indissolubly connected with Omnipotence. Something in them has been aroused; they have suddenly discovered that they possess a tremendous latent ability of which they were heretofore entirely unconscious.

There is a caveat for me at this junction. Whose ‘will’ are you following? Whose dream is awareness1yours either a part or its manifestation?  Do you know or even care?  How would you know or tell?

28. All possession is the result of the accumulative attitude of mind, or the money consciousness; this is the magic wand which will enable you to receive the idea, and it will formulate plans for you to execute, and you will find as much pleasure in the execution as in the satisfaction of attainment and achievement.

The next question is Karma, cause and effect, is it real or a myth. I’ll let you know in my next post.

 

32 thoughts on “Week – #5 The Habit You Be

  1. Changing habits, attitudes, and the balance of power between the conscious and sub-conscious mind is a huge task. The sub-conscious mind wants to control, and training it to let go of the steering wheel is quite a battle!

  2. I used to smoke and for many years I loved it. I think I thought of them as friends, believe it or not. I think you are right that it takes over and consumes your life and it becomes something you organize your life around. I guess it like anything else that you become unconsciously dependent on. I quit cold turkey decades ago and am glad I did. Thanks for a great article.

  3. “2. The subconscious can and will solve any problem for us if we know how to direct it” – is a fact. Scientists of the field of quantum physics have proven that.

    I smoked over 7 years, the habit became almost obsessive – 2 packs of cigarettes a day who lose their importance if there was no the last cigarette smoking a horizontal before bedtime …

    At one point, amid the psyche of a former professional sportsman, I was lucky to deeply understand that smoking is essentially the slowest drug…

    Since then I have not smoked. It’s been over 20 years since then. I’ve arrived just in the position where, at some point, I’m really disturbed by the cigarette smoke – no gimmick here.

    Smoking is a habit pars. After crossing a threshold of habit, just the pure will or diverse deals – replace one with another – only rarely effective in helping us…

    Deep understanding of our weaknesses – in fact, entering into the core of the problem – is the key the switch that can change, even irreversible, the things in the positive direction of.

  4. The balance between the mind and the body is crucial to survive this fast world. If you keep your mind on the positive side you always have the power to fight the dark side.

    If we can control our brain we can control our lives.

  5. If you think about it, what is “life” the ordinary, mostly unconscious strings of moments but a collection of habits? Our whole behavior is but the reflection of the prominent ones, our “subconscious” are those we keep under wrap but appear spontaneously in response to events and emotions.
    Could we say that we find anything else but habits? I never have, but am opened to debate.

  6. Awesome Michael! I really loved how you were the Observer of that voice inside and that voice was “not your friend”. Then YOU took control. Very powerful! You also mentioned how drift will cause you to drift into someone else’s intentions. In the book, Outwitting The Devil, by Napoleon Hill he refers to “drift” as the number one tool of the Devil! (substitute negative mind or whatever term you have for “the Devil”)

  7. excellent post. many thanks. well i was used to smoke 1 1/2 – 2 packs of cigs per day. at one point i recognized it’s really a bad habit. breath smells and clothes as well. it makes sick and gives a strange feeling on the troth. so i stopped it, well i changed it. i started smoking cigars and cigarillos. and well, the consumption went down to 3-5 small cigarillos per day and 1-2 cohibas per weekend:-)) but still smoke. tried to replace it with e-cigs. did not work as i dont like it. completely quit? yeah, will definitely give it a try – some day…

Leave a Reply

