Week – #3 – Thinking or Having Thoughts?

Birds are to air, as fish are to water as human are to thought.

If you believe that is “you” thinking… try stopping it. The subconscious is immersed in whereISblissthought and unless you train it to tune into the thoughts you are committed to, it will train you.

Thinking is difficult work; having thoughts is as easy as a fish in water or a bird in the air.  Thinking is using your imagination, looking for an opening where no one has seen one before, finding a new way to combine the mundane into a kaleidoscope of opportunity.

I took a trip into Bogota yesterday to have my passport renewed. The general story regarding Bogota is a little bit of good followed by a huge “yeah, but.”  That is the human condition.  If anyone were to actually meet God and spend some time, they would return with this story of omnipotence, power, wonder and unexplainable more BUT just a little bit bossy.

The directions for finding where I needed to go seem designed to create confusion, upset, long delays and difficulties.  I needed to report to the US Embassy between 10am and noon at the #1 Window because I passed the test for not needing a personal interview.

The plane ride was the usual 45 minutes. I was on the aisle in row three.  The airport and surrounding road area is undergoing a major rejuvenation.  I followed the signs and the rest of the passengers out of the terminal.  I gave myself plenty of time to reach the embassy before 10am with an intention of being there around 9. The line for the official airport cabs was about 300 people long and not moving.  Someone asked me if I wanted a taxi.  In a few minutes, I and two other people were on our way.

The driver dropped the couple off first and a few minutes later, I was at the embassy.  The common horror stories’ regarding Bogota cab fares is unjustified in my experience. The trip was short, maybe 15 minutes and $10.  Now I needed to find Window #1.

509_keysLooking over the area there were many people in line about a block away. Hundreds actually and there was a large #1 on a post.  My Spanish is too poor to ask long questions that give even longer answers.  I discovered two huge lines, one leading to #4 and the other, the longer, leading to #1.  There I learned I was in the wrong place and needed to return to where I began and go the other direction about a half block.

It took nearly as long processing through the initial checkpoint as I had walked.  Everyone was extremely friendly and accommodating.  The next checkpoint took my cell phone, and more questions before entry into the building.  Another checkpoint emptied my pockets again and there I found a small room for people renewing their passports.  ‘Take a number and wait.’ The number on the board was 18 and I pulled 23. It was only 9am.

About 15 minutes later, someone came in, walked up to Window #1 without pulling a number, spent a few minutes, moved to the window where the courier takes the couriers fee and left.  Could it be?  I walked over to Window #1 and the woman said she’d take my passport paperwork.   A few minutes later, after paying for the courier, I passed back through the checkpoints, picked up my cell and left the embassy grounds.  I hailed the first cab who returned me to the airport for the same $10 amount. I returned to departure area of the airport and it was 10am.

I explored the airport for four hours before the flight home.  Normally I wait for someone to pick me up or someone is waiting when I arrive.  Today I walked off the plane, was one of the first in line for the shuttle bus and ten minutes later was on the bus home.  It passes within a block of the house and they dropped me off at my request.  The shuttle cost less than the toll one way.  Week Three of Master Key, Haanel wrote:

You have found that the Individual may act on the Universal, and that the result of this action and interaction is cause and effect. Thought, therefore, is the cause, and the experiences with which you meet in life are the effect.

Eliminate, therefore, any possible tendency to complain of conditions as they have been, or as they are, because it rests with you to change them and make them what you would messagelike them to be.

Direct your effort to a realization of the mental resources, always at your command, from which all real and lasting power comes.

Persist in this practice until you come to a realization of the fact that there can be no failure in the accomplishment of any proper object in life if you but understand your power and persist in your object, because the mind-forces are ever ready to lend themselves to a purposeful will, in the effort to crystallize thought and desire into actions, events and conditions.

I will fly more often to Bogota!

26 thoughts on “Week – #3 – Thinking or Having Thoughts?

  1. Hi Michael…well done …. is it possible to set up a link in auto-responder to let us all know when you type in another post here…. ??? …thanks Duncan …ahhhhh just saw it below… dahhhhhhh!!!

  2. That was interesting, and its true , sometimes you find out that in this world its full of failures and mistakes, but we need to remember when the world send us a mistake maybe it’s to distract ourselves and to get rid of our stress……

  3. If you’re a keen observer, then understand that you need all the skills you know when to pursue your reasoning, and when it’s time to listen to your instincts… to take indeed the right decision… (which is somehow a relative term…)

    Thank you Michael, inspired subject!

  4. I like the venn diagram in your picture. It’s very interesting. I think you story illustrates some very key points to success. Focus on a goal, persistence, and consistency are absolutely vital to any success. I think your example of you experience getting your passport in Bogata illustrates how opportunity just seems to open up spontaneously when you take specific action towards a specific end. I enjoyed this post very much

  5. I like how you differentiate thinking and having thoughts. Indeed, thinking is difficult, sometimes will lead to headache, lol…

    However, thinking can be trained and that’s how conditioning and self-programming can be so powerful to transform a person!

    Cheers,
    Ming

  6. Everything happens for a reason! I am sure you realize it during your Bagota trip!

    Personally, I love to think and do it purposely instead of having thoughts because that helps to guide me along the way!

    Cheers,
    Nikki

  7. Hi Michael,

    What a great post! I loved your example of the human example and “yes, but.” It is true we can let circumstances drive us up the wall or we can work with them to make them work for us. So much is possible when we give it a chance.

  8. Can it actually be so absolutely effortless? Well of course it can, given the other component of persistent practice prior to the event in question. You’ve obviously practiced and prepared well before your “Subby” delivered such a pleasant experience while traveling to and from Bogota.

  9. Pingback: Homepage

Leave a Reply

